top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Ashka Naik

Today we interviewed, Ashka Naik, a well known writer on Instagram also well known as @silent_scribbler. Her blogs are to die for. So let's see what she has to say about her journey as a writer:

1. Hello Ashka, describe yourself in few sentences.

Hi Divya, my name is Ashka Naik. I would describe myself in one sentence as a storm underneath seemingly calm waters.

2. So what do you do ?

I'm currently pursuing my post graduation in Psychology.

3. So how did you step in to the writers shoes? You run a blog! So how this started?

I began writing when I was 13 years old. I remember once in school, we were attempting to put together a school magazine, and that's when I wrote my first poem. I didn't write much at that

time, until last year, when I came across a poetry website, and discovered that Instagram is great way to reach out to other poets and writers. So I started this account in February 2016, and followed it up with my blog. And here we are!

4. That’s great, Ashka. So what is your age now?

I'm 21 years old.

5. Well, what is your perspective of writing? How do you plan your formations?

Honestly, I don't plan anything about writing. Very often, I'll be simply sitting somewhere, or trying to sleep in the middle of the night when a line or two randomly occur to me. And that forms the basis for my entire write up. For me, the process of writing becomes more beautiful when I don't have to force the words out of my mind. When they come naturally, they sound better. The more it is natural the more it seems worthy!

6. Can you explain your blog NANA? We would love to know the history behind it.

Nana began as a movement within me. You know how the "rape culture" has gotten these days. I was tired of writing love poems that particular day, and I realized that as a writer, it becomes

my responsibility to give a voice to the issues that are so unheard in our society. I wrote Nana in first person, in behalf of all those who cannot speak about their experiences because of fear of society. And it is addressed to the speaker's grandmother, thus highlighting the sad fact that we cannot even turn to our own families for protection when such tragedies happen. I wanted it to sound raw and ruthless and real. And I hope I could do that with Nana. That was indeed deep as the name itself suggested! We loved the way her words flew all round the conversation.

7. You have used SAUDADE! In one of your writings! We will love to know more!

Saudade, yes! It's one of my personal favorites. So Saudade is a Portuguese word, which means a feeling of longing and melancholy for someone/something that is missing/lost, especially when it will never return. As a writer, I love discovering new words in various languages, because so often they represent feelings that cannot be easily expressed in English. There was a phase where I was really fascinated with such words, so I took a couple of them, and tried to expand their meanings into some write ups. If you read my works, you'll notice that I tend to write in the letter form very often. Saudade is also a letter addressed to a lost lover. A lover that won't come back, but clearly the speaker continues to love him even in his absence. It is basically a letter to love.

8. So now, what are the plans after psychology?

I'm planning to specialize in Clinical Psychology, and I would love to work in the field of therapy. Mental health issues are on the rise, and I consider it a responsibility for every thinking, feeling human to make sure that we prosper as a mentally healthy society. I am willing to work in any field, be it a hospital set up, or an NGO, to achieve that goal. Beyond Psychology, I would really love to get a book of my writing out there. I have been putting together a compilation for a while. Let's see how it goes!

9. What is your favorite quote?

Do more than just exist.

10. What are your expectations with THE UNBOXED if you have been following us this far?

I see you've got a brilliant team, and you guys are making a brilliant effort to bring all sorts of writing talents under the spotlight. Your challenges are truly out of the box. Very unique and thoughtfully crafted. I'd love to see more of those challenges.

We were glad by such kind words that did flow with grace!

11. Where do you see yourself in this field in the next five years ?

In the next five years? Well, I hope to blow my own damn mind, haha! Hopefully I'll have a book out and will be able to write more expansively in genres that I haven't yet explored.

We wish you all the best for that. Thank you for taking out time and having this interview with us, it was a pleasure.

bottom of page